A word to the wise…

I just listened to a podcast, where the person speaking said “disclosure is the currency in relationships.”

Okay, so I have to admit that I had to look up the meaning of the word disclosure. I know, I know.  I should have known what it meant, but to me it is one of those words (a long list) that are commonly misused, so I just wanted to be sure I knew what he was talking about. So, in case you are wondering, disclosure means to expose, to offer a revelation.

Revelation.

I like that synonym.

I don’t pretend to be a genius when it comes to relationships. I, just like everyone else, have my flaws (again, a long list) when it comes to living in community and fellowship with the same species.  In fact, I don’t even like talking on the phone- and everyone who truly knows me will attest to that fact. My phone calls are few and far between. I do, however, really enjoy talking face to face. I much prefer to see how a person reacts or doesn’t, to my words. I enjoy the crinkling of the brow when confusion strikes or the hatch marks beside the eyes that speak laughter. And really, I just like to be in the same room to the person with whom I am sharing the conversation.

And yes, I did say, sharing the conversation. We all know those people who dominate conversations, as if the other person were just a good looking, highly absorbent wall. Conversations, lives, stories, and cheese cake, were all created to be shared.

Anyway, off topic. So, as I was saying, I am not a relational genius, nor do I pretend to be such.  I do know two things, however. First, that our relationally driven God created us to also be relationally driven, and second, in order for those relationships to grow, reciprocity is needed. Balanced reciprocity.

In relationships- every kind- both parties have to participate. God did not create some people to need other people; God created every person to need, even long for, community. We were created with innate needs: a need for God, and a need for community. Of course the need for God is greater, and knowing him is far greater than any fulfillment in personal relationships.  However, it is also through those personal relationships that we find out more about God. Confusing? Stay tuned.

You see, it is when we are vulnerable, open, honest, and transparent with one another, that we see this awesome glimpse of God. He chose to make us. In doing so, he chose vulnerability. (His vulnerability does not come from need, however). He gave us free will. We can choose to love God, or spurn him. The God who made the universe and everything to fill it chose to put himself in the position of potentially being rejected.  He is a God who chooses to be worshiped in the truest sense of the word- by choice, not by mechanical, perfunctory, rote. God made himself vulnerable to give us all a choice, a chance, all the while knowing who would choose to love him, and who wouldn’t.

This vulnerability exhibited is not weakness. Common thought equates vulnerability with weakness, we all know this. Sayings like “you’re too emotional” or “man up” send the message that vulnerability and the willingness to show it is weak.

Vulnerability, disclosure, exposure, revelation. All of these are necessary to truly following Christ. We were not created to hide or put barbed wire, brick walls, and moats around our hearts.

Be willing to be vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

